FALL, FRIENDSGIVING, FRIENDSGIVING, HOLIDAY

2023 White Pumpkin Friendsgiving – Cocktail & Brunch

FINALE: Cocktail & Brunch

The day finally arrived for my annual Friendsgiving. This gathering of friends is intentionally scheduled before the upcoming holiday rush is in full force and everyone is running in different directions to attend various holiday events and family gatherings. While there’s always a couple of friends that can’t attend, the majority of my group had the opportunity to sit at the table, with relaxing music playing in the background* and visit with each other.

As I worked in the kitchen with my best friend and helper Caryl preparing each dish and then serving, I overheard the group share some of their travel and life experiences of the year. A final group “catch up” if you will, was in progress and filled my heart with joy.

*For this brunch I used the YouTube App on my TV and selected a Fall inspired jazz/piano video as the background music that also provided a fall image on my screen.

For this year’s gathering I wanted a soothing, calm table setting that incorporated gold and white linens and dishes with a white pumpkin theme. The table was accented with a touch of color provided by the floral arrangement that included the soft shades of white, cream, coral, peach, blush and a hint of yellow. A couple of branches from my tree with autumn leaves were tucked at each end, to emphasize the Fall season. While my table was set for a Friendsgiving, it would serve just as well for a simple Fall Dinner Party or Thanksgiving gathering.

To create the floral arrangement I used a long bread loaf baking pan with a log shaped cylinder of chicken wire placed inside. The flower stems were inserted into the various holes and stayed in place as I turned the pan numerous times to place the same pattern of flowers equally on each side. A set of small white pumpkins with picks (The Dollar Tree) was inserted to support my theme. I also used school glue to sprinkle each white pumpkin with some junky white glitter for a little sparkle.

TIP: My favorite source for fresh flowers is Trader Joe’s, but the nearest location is nearly an hour away. So I purchase my flowers as early as the prior weekend, trim the stems when I get home and place all of the bouquets in a bucket or large vase of water in the refrigerator. I usually trim the stems again after a couple of days. The day prior to the party I arrange the flowers and they complete their blooming and fill out overnight. I refill the pan with water daily and the arrangement is still looking as fresh as the first day a week later.

The cream colored napkins are topped with gold flatware tied together with a toffee colored velvet ribbon and a piece of eucalyptus. A place card with each guests’ name is tucked into the folded napkin.

Small white pumpkins (real) that I glittered, dried roses, dried foraged magnolia pods and acorn branches, all set on an antique silver bowl were placed on each end of the table.

You will also note as part of my table decor a printout of Ode on a Grecian Urn (1820) by John Keats. Several of the ladies in my group are also part of my book club. I recommended a book that was optional to read if they wished and we discussed the story as part of the conversation. A small portion of the poem was referenced several times as part of the story, so I printed the entire poem out for everyone. Marigold petals and tarragon blossoms were used to garnish my soup and salad.

Finally, antique silver egg cups were used with small white votive candles were scattered across the table to complete the ambiance I was looking for.

Mulled Apple Cider Mimosa

This cocktail was inspired by She Keeps a Lovely Home‘s Mulled Ginger Cider Mimosa. Gretchen loves to entertain as I do, and has her own consistent style that comes through in each of her hosted parties. I am greatly inspired by her creative ideas and recipes.

For my version, I made a few adjustments because I wanted a little more apple flavored warm Fall spice to my cocktail. So I made an apple syrup with my favorite Chinese Five Spice to add when the final cocktail is put together. My guests really enjoyed this cocktail and it would be great to prepare the mulled cider and apple syrup in advance, ready for anyone who drops by for the holidays or Thanksgiving. It makes a lot, but you’ll be prepared when they ask for refills.

I always prepare a tray of glasses with some kind of adornment, or add edible flowers to my cocktail for a fancy flourish. For this gathering I tied a cinnamon orange velvet ribbon and a small sprig of baby’s breath on each stem for a festive presentation. I fill the glasses as soon as the first guest arrives so that everyone can take a glass to sip on as they mingle and chat waiting on my signal to be seated at the table.

To Make this Cocktail you’ll need:

  • 1 or 2 bottles of chilled champagne, prosecco, Cava or other sparkling white wine

Mulled Cider

  • 1 gallon apple cider
  • 1 package of mulling spices
  • two inch piece of fresh ginger (sliced)
  • 1 blood orange or tangerine (sliced)
  • 1 lemon (sliced)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • two cinnamon sticks

All of the ingredients were placed in a large pot and brought to a rapid simmer, and then lowered to simmer for almost two hours to get the liquid to reduce and become more concentrated. This can be done up to two weeks prior to the party, stored in bottles and refrigerated. (After it cools it can easily be poured back into the original apple cider bottle or plastic gallon container to refrigerate.)

My reduced mulled cider filled three of these bottles. Leftover mulled cider can be warmed on it’s own to enjoy on a crisp cool Fall day!

Apple Syrup

The Apple Syrup

  • 2 small bottles of Martinelli pure apple juice
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon Chinese five spice (or Apple pie spice)
  • 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract

Pour first four ingredients into a saucepan and bring to a slight boil and then a steady simmer occasionally stirring for one hour, until reduced to about a third of the original volume. It will thicken as it cools, so don’t over-reduce. The end result is about 2/3 cup of syrup. Add vanilla extract. I poured the syrup into one of the glass apple juice jars to cool completely, then cover and store in the refrigerator up to two months.

To serve:

  • 1 tablespoon of Apple syrup in each glass
  • 2 ounces of mulled cider
  • top off with sparkling prosecco, cava, crĂ©mant or champagne

Want to print this recipe? Just use the print option in your browser’s menu.”
 

Apple syrup can be used for cocktails, but also for pancakes and waffles.

Final day dessert:

In my prior post (Friendsgiving Part 2) I share the recipe and my “test” version of this Swiss roll. Thankfully, when I recreated the cake the day before the brunch it turned out perfectly. I served it with a small scoop of coffee ice cream and a small bite sized gold sprayed leaf sugar cookie.

You can refer to the previous posts (Part 1 -3) to get the recipes for the Swiss roll, soup, salad and pumpkin brioche rolls.

If you’re looking for something a little lighter to serve at your Friendsgiving or Thanksgiving gathering, I hope you’ll be inspired by some of the items I used for my gathering.

Thanksgiving is a time for reflection on the things we are most thankful for, it’s a time where family and friends plan to gather – some you may only see a few times a year, most importantly it’s a time to be giving and generous. It’s the beginning of the season for giving and gratitude. Nothing gives me more pleasure than spoiling my family and friends to tasty food and a comforting environment. It’s the season to take some time, to slow down and enjoy each other. Let go of the rush of life for just a day if it’s all you can spare to enjoy the people you love and create memories to be cherished. It’s hands down, my absolute favorite season of the year. Nature gives us the gift of it’s colorful change, our only requirement is to take in all of it’s spectacular splendor with heart filled appreciation.

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Wishing you all a healthy, spirit filled, loving Fall season filled with gratitude.

Resources:

  • Antique silver bowls and egg cups (An Occasional Wife Estate & Consignment)
  • Fresh flowers (Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods)
  • Friendsgiving paper cocktail napkins (Homegoods)
  • Place cards (free online clip art)

Leave a comment